Professor of Astrophysics, Physics Department, Tartu University
Former President of the Riigikogu (Estonian Parliament)
Full member of International Academy of Astronautics

Education: Moscow State University, astronomy (cum laude) 1969; Cand. Sci. in physics and mathematics, 1972, Dr.Sci. in physics and mathematics, 1984; Tartu State University, physics, 1964; Viljandi Carl Robert Jakobson Secondary School No 1, 1962

Career: Member of the XII Riigikogu 2011–; XI Riigikogu, President, 2007–2014; X Riigikogu, President 2003–2006, Vice-President 2006–2007; Estonian Academy of Sciences, Vice-President, 1999–2004; University of Tartu, Chair of Theoretical Physics and Astrophysics, Professor 1988–1992; Professor of Astrophysics 1992; Institute of Theoretical Physics, Head 1992–1996; Physics Department, Head 1992–1998; Astronomical Council of the USSR Academy of Sciences, Leading Researcher, Scientific Secretary, Senior Researcher, Junior Researcher 1974–1988; Estonian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Physics and Astronomy, Junior Researcher, 1972–1974

Social activities: International Astronomical Union (IAU); IAU Estonian National Committee; European Astronomical Society (EAS); Estonian Physical Society; Tartu Observatory Science Council; National Institute of Chemical Physics and Biophysics, Council; University of Tartu, Institute of Physics, Scientific Council, Estonian Academy of Sciences, 1997–; Euroscience; Royal Astronomical Society, associate member, 2001–; Descartes Grand Jury, 2002, President 2003–2005; Göttingen Academy of Sciences, Gauss Professor; Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, foreign member; Tartu Academic Tennis Club

Scientific activities: International Academy of Astronautics, 2010–; Estonian Academy of Sciences, 1997–; Göttingen Academy of Sciences, Gauss Professor, 1994; Highest Evaluation Committee, Professor, 1990; University of Tartu, Institute of Theoretical Physics, Professor of Astrophysics, 1988; Dissertation Unstable Thermonuclear Burning at Late Stages of Stellar Evolution, 1984

Awards: Medal of the Baltic Assembly; Order of the National Coat of Arms, 2nd class, 2008; Grand Cross of the Order of Orange-Nassau, 2008; Grand Cross of the Order of Crown, 2008; Royal Order of the Northern Star, Sweden, 1st class, 2007; Order of Merit for Services Grand Gold Decoration of Austria, 2007; Badge of Honour ´Jüriöö Star´, 2007; Commander of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland, 2005; Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Italy, 2004; Grand Medal of the Estonian Academy of Sciences, 2004; Grand Cross of the Order of Infante Dom Henrique of the Republic of Portugal, 2003; Republic of Estonia Science Award in Exact Sciences, 2002; Order of the White Star, 4th class, 2001



10:15-11:15 7 NOVEMBER