World Science Forum's Steering Committe meets in Paris 05.04.2013

WSF's Steering Committee has decided on the subjects of thematic sections of World Science Forum 2013 in Rio de Janeiro. At the meeting in Paris with the participation of József Pálinkás, President of MTA and WSF, and several Nobel Prize winning scientists, members also decided on the speakers of the plenary sessions dedicated to "Science for Sustainable Global Development" next year.

On MTA President's initiative, WSF will be hosted by a different metropolis every second occasion i.e. every fourth year. In the autumn of 2013 Rio de Janeiro will receive the participants of the prestigious meeting, providing a platform for discussions of the issues of sustainable development.

The event will be organised by WSF partner associations UNESCO, the International Council for Science (ICSU), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World as well as the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. At the plenary sessions lecturers will present six overall subjects that concern the relationship between science and governmental measures, the sustainability of utilising natural resources, and the essential role science plays in innovation. At the preparatory meeting in Paris, WSF's Steering Committee - with the participation of József Pálinkás President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and WSF, Nobel Prize awarded chemist and President of ICSU Yuan Tseh Lee,  Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences of UNESCO Gretchen Kalonji, President of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences Jacob Palis,  and Werner Arber, Nobel Prize awarded microbiologist - assigned the 12 groups of thematic sections concerning the issues of environmental, economic and social sustainability. MTA is involved in presenting three subjects in detail. It organises meetings about water economy and water safety in cooperation with UNESCO, about science diplomacy with AAAS and TWAS, and one on the link between the scientific and business sector together with the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.